Resigned to a Life Less Ordinary.

Greetings, salutations and felicitations!

Welcome, dear reader, to a brave new world. My name is Tim Austin and I’m an Actor, Dramaturg and Writer based up in North Yorkshire (UK) and 5 months ago I did something very, very silly;

I resigned.

I chucked in a drab but reliable 9–5 office job to focus all of my energy on making it as an actor.

Now don’t look at me like that! And stop sniggering at the back! I know full well that it was a reckless thing to do – I had whole queues of people who were perfectly overjoyed to point this out to me at the time – but I had my reasons. Not least of which is this:

I’m not a 9-5 career kinda guy.

I never have been. I’m a theatre and film guy. I’m a thespian. A dyed-in-the-wool grease paint wearing, Shakespeare quoting, singing, dancing, wet liberal luvvy. And do you know what? Resigning was the best thing I’ve ever done.

But now comes the hard work, and it’s this hard graft that I’m here to discuss with you, my dear internet brethren. I’ve decided to blog about my experiences as an emerging actor so that others can share in the joy, the pain and the general insanity that ensues when trying to get ahead in this wonderful industry of ours.

Over the next few weeks, months and years, I’m going to be baring my soul, sharing my insight and venting my fury (delete as appropriate). Sometimes it’ll be funny, at times it’ll be a little irreverent, and often you’ll wonder why I bother – but I guarantee this; it’ll never be dull.

So join me as I hurtle into an unknown future! And don’t stay silent, I’m going to need your comments, support and advice all of the way! See that “Leave a Reply” box down there? That’s yours, that is.

This is a full on conversation and I’m opening it out to every writer, actor, producer, director and wannabe in the world! So don’t be a stranger. In fact, you can start right now by giving your thoughts and votes on the following quandary;

Next week I have a meeting with an agent to discuss representation. My question is this: do you have to have an agent to be successful as an actor? Extra points to anyone who can answer this question from experience!

Votes and comments below! Don’t be shy 😉

ACTORTIM

www.spotlight.com/8218-3497-0502


One response to “Resigned to a Life Less Ordinary.

  1. What a chocolatey scrumptious looking blog, good luck with your road to career success actortim!

Leave a Reply

