What’s in a Name?

As Shakespeare once famously observed “What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.” (Romeo and Juliet, Act 2, Scene 2). However Billy The Bard never met Max Clifford.

And nor have I, so let’s not go nuts.

The point I’m trying to make is this; a name can tell a person something about you before they actually meet you. Now, this message needn’t actually be true or accurate (what would you think of me if I was called Poobags Bugmuncher? Would you let me work with kids?) but it’s there.

So this week I asked myself the question; What is my professional name saying to directors, producers and casting agents? Should I be Tim Austin or Timothy Austin? Should it be something else entirely (“The Royal Shakespeare Company presents Poobags Bugmuncher as Hamlet”)?

After a great deal of thought, I settled on a change from Tim to Timothy but I’m very aware that there may be other opinions out there (Hello Aliki!). So, what do you think? Fire up those Mice and get a-clickin’! ALL of you! It’ll just take a second!

<<Update: The poll has now closed, thanks for all your contributions>>

And now, the News,….

After a day recovering from a fantastic show night on the 19th, it was straight back to work. I’m not the kind of person to sit back and wait for my agent to call; in fact, this is the worst thing you can do, especially when you’re just starting out! Gotta make some noise about Actortim!

On Wednesday night I spent a lovely evening with street theatre bods at the Green Room in Manchester, care of XTrax. There’s so much going on out there on the streets, people! From the insane but wholly adorable antics of Thingumajig Theatre and their Giant Hippo’s to the dedicated team at Lakesalive who are fighting to make Cumbria a Centre for Street Arts Excellence. It’s a fantastic and vibrant sector of the artistic universe and one which is far too often overlooked here in the UK.

This week also saw me getting in touch with a few old friends – namely Rod Dixon over at Red Ladder and Steve Byrne at Interplay, both of whom I’ll be having a cuppa with in the next week.  I’ll also be having a chat with Joe Sumsion soon to catch his thoughts on Theatre Uncut.

On the casting front, this week I’ve applied to be; King Arthur, A Terry Thomas Sound-a-Like and a character on a Blackpool pleasurebeach “4D” ride (scream if you wanna go faster!)

So it’s onward and upward. It’s meetings galore and networking MADNESS over the next few weeks before I drop in front of the camera again in MCT Production’s “Disowned” in Liverpool.

As ever, wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

