Larkin’ About

Well, I’ve now finished my temporary assignment in the “Real World”, doing the 9-5 (or, in my case, the 8 – 6.30) and I’m back chasing new work as a performer. And, as lovely as the guys at the GP surgery were – and they were seriously lovely! Thank you, thank you! – I’m glad to be back chasing my career.

And, wouldn’t you know it, within a week of finishing at the surgery I found myself on stage at Contact Theatre in Manchester, helping out my old friend Aliki Chaple.

Last Saturday I performed in an improvised, and frighteningly high tech, social gaming show as part of an evening arranged by Larkin’ About. Aliki was producing and directing an interactive show called Improv Avatar and I volunteered to be one of her guinnea pigs professional actors.

The idea was this; Three other actors and I would perform together and improvise around words tweeted to us by selected members of the audience. No script, no warnings as to how to react; nothing. Imagine Whose Line is it Anyay?… on Speed. But madder.

It was hillarious. Flat out anarchy from start to finish and I loved it!

Although I’ve helped to create devised works before, I’ve never performed straight Improv, except when playing to an audience for Alice and in Panto. It was a truly remarkable experience! You had to be quick!

One moment I was attempting to force a Hippo into a cooking pot, the next I was trying to wrench my jaw out, the next I was floating in space trying to convince someone that they weren’t in Australia after all. Which was true enough.

Manic, energetic and great entertainment.

I’d like to thank my fellow performers, Jack Coverdale, Sharon Lancaster and Nathan Birkinshaw for being such sports, and a big thanks to Aliki for inviting us along!

The stage for Improv Avatar

To learn more about Larkin’ About, please visit thier website; http://larkin-about.co.uk

Only two more weeks to Christmas! Don’t forget to buy a copy of my short story e-book, Christmas Tails – it’s a great gift and 50p of every copy goes to children in need! Click here to find out more.

Leave a Reply

