From London to Blackburn – busy, busy!

Chugga-cha-chum-chugga-cha-chum. It’s a sound I’ve been getting very used to in recent weeks.

I’ve been spending a lot of time on trains, y’see. Not being a driver (yet), trains are my main method of getting to and from auditions – and I’ve been auditioning quite a bit recently.

Three weeks ago I travelled to Blackburn for Pendle Productions and Storytellers Theatre. They’d invited me down to audition for their 2011/12 winter tours and, knowing how well regarded they are and the quality that they demand from their performers, I was glad to attend.

It was a very enjoyable audition with a little song, a bit of dance and a jot of storytelling.

And then there was my commercial audition for Jared Hess, the director of Napoleon Dynamite. I’ve just returned from London after the audition at the Green Room in Soho. It’ll be a commercial that’ll air in the UK over Christmas – so, national exposure and good money. And the chance of working with a genuine Hollywood director.

“Date Night” filming is now complete and I’ve been shown a sneak peek of the final cut. It’ll be doing the rounds on the short film circuit, starting later this year. A clip will be added to my showreel as soon as the film is completed. More updates to follow.

But, as of now, I’m back “resting” although there’s really no “rest” involved. I sit at my desk from 9-5 making calls, writing in to castings and arranging visits. In fact, in many ways, I’m busier now than I ever was when I was in “regular” employment!

I’m hopeful that my recent endeavours will see me back on stage or in front of a camera before too long but I’m always looking for new and exciting projects.

If you’re a producer, a director or a casting agent, do take a good look around the site. If you think I might be suitable for something that you’re casting, do get in touch – you’ll find my email address on my “Contact” page.

Until next time, however; take care and stay frosty.

Leave a Reply

